January Storm: Disaster Declaration Brings Aid to Snohomish, King Counties

January's wicked weather led to $32.3 million in potential eligible damages.

President Barack Obama today signed a federal disaster declaration for Snohomish County and 10 other Washington counties for damages and costs suffered during January’s snowstorm.

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced that federal aid has been made available to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by a severe winter storm, flooding, landslides, and mudslides from January 14 to Jan. 23.

The weather led to $32.3 million in potential eligible damages, according to preliminary state and federal assessments.

The counties included in the disaster declaration are: Snohomish, Grays Harbor, Clallam, King, Klickitat, Lewis, Mason, Pierce, Skamania, Thurston and Wahkiakum.

Federal Emergency Management Agency assistance grants would defray 75 percent of eligible disaster-related costs. That would cover repairs, property replacement, debris removal and emergency protective measures.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something